Board of Directors

BASEC's Board of Directors comprises of established cable industry experts from a mixture of leading cable manufacturers, associations and organisations.

  • Tony Lioveri

    Tony Lioveri

    Chief Executive

    Tony joined BASEC in November 2017 as Chief Executive. Prior to this, he worked as a strategy consultant providing financial, marketing and digital transformation to SMEs. Previous roles also include Group Marketing Director at ACAL plc, Managing Director at ACAL BFi UK and Director of e-business EMEAR for Epson. Tony was appointed by the BASEC Board to spearhead a customer focused strategy to drive growth worldwide. Tony holds an MBA in International Marketing Strategy, is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Marketing.

  • Doug Gracias

    Doug Gracias


    Doug has been the Engineering Director at Prysmian Cables & Systems for the past 15 years. However, his experience in the cable industry spans over 38 years in a variety of engineering, technical, marketing and quality roles.

    Having worked with power, telecommunications, industrial, submarine, fire performance cables and their associated accessories, Doug has also had involvement in the BS – British and IEC – International standards through the BCA and CIGRE.

  • Hassan Omar

    Hassan Omar


    Hassan Omar has over 18 years’ experience in the field of Management, Product Development and Engineering. He is currently the Chief Operating Officer for Ducab, the leading Cable Manufacturing Company in the UAE. In the past Hassan held titles like General Manager Technical and Quality, General Manager Manufacturing, and Technical instructor with GTZ (German Group) and Technical Institute at Sharjah Electricity and Water Authority.

    Hassan is active in non-government organizations (NGO) work in the capacity of board member of BASEC (British Approval Service for Electric Cables), Advisory board of Ajman University of Technology and has in the recent past chaired the Continuous Improvement Subgroup with Dubai Quality Group, before being elected as the Chairman of the Group from 2019-2021.

  • Jon O'Neill

    Jon O'Neill


    Jon began his professional life in the insurance industry and in June 1999 was appointed Managing Director of the Fire Protection Association.

    Jon has served on numerous government, ministerial, and sector advisory bodies and was part of the strategic advisory group on the Fire Futures Review. He represents UK insurers on the Prevention Forum of Insurance Europe, is the UK’s representative at the General Assemblies of CFPA Europe and CFPA International and sits on the Executive of the Fire Sector Federation. In 2017, Jon was awarded in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to fire safety and received his OBE on Tuesday 31 October at Buckingham Palace from Prince William, Duke of Cambridge.

  • Kevan Parker

    Kevan Parker


    Kevan was appointed as Managing Director of Certsure LLP in 2018, widely recognised via the NICEIC and ELECSA brands. Prior to this, Kevan held various senior positions in the certification industry including Certification and Operations Director also at Certsure LLP, Technical Manager and later Head of NQA at the Certsure sister company, as well as an 11 year tenure at the British Standards Institution working with both product and management system certification schemes.

    Coupling this specialist certification expertise with wider industry knowledge, Kevan has also worked as Head of Corporate Responsibility at Merlin Communications. Merlin managed complex assets and infrastructure in mission-critical environments for the MOD and BBC World Service. They were subsequently sold to Babcock Support Services Limited, where as the Director of Health and Safety, Kevan managed a team specialising in the support of military and non-governmental organisations. Kevan has also been exposed to the high-technology service provider QinetiQ Plc, mainly supporting the defence and aerospace industries, as their Head of Occupational Health and Safety.

  • Terry Foreman

    Terry Foreman


    Terry is the Group Financial Controller for ECA, having joined the Association in 2013. He became a non-executive Director for BASEC in 2017, having spent a year as an alternate director on behalf of Jim O’Neill. Since qualifying as an Accountant over 25 years ago, Terry has been running finance functions in a variety of industries, everything from motor bike racing to logistics and manufacturing. Prior to joining ECA Terry had spent the previous 14 years in construction-based companies.

    Terry is also a Trustee of the Electrical Industries Charity.

  • Trevor Nash

    Trevor Nash


    Trevor has an extensive experience and knowledge of certification, having been involved in the sector for over 35 years, including 20 of those in senior management positions at BSI and NQA/NICIEC. He has extensive experience of dealing with regulatory bodies, government departments and technical committees both at the national and international level. This involvement has resulted in him being recognised as a high profile and respected member of the conformity assessment community.

    Trevor was a member of the Association of British Certification Bodies’ Management Committee for 7 years and was the Association’s Chairman for a period of 4 years from 2002 to 2006. He was then the Association’s Chief Executive from 2009 until 2018. During this time, he represented ABCB on the UKAS Policy Advisory Committee and Chaired the UKAS Quality Management Systems Certification Technical Advisory Committee.

    He represented ABCB on the International Accreditation Forum Technical Committee for 18 years and was a member of the IAF Board from 2014 to 2017. He was also Vice Chair of the IAF Technical Committee from 2012 to 2018. Trevor has also been a member of the IRCA Certification Committee, a member of the IQNet Board, a member of the UK delegation to ISO Conformity Assessment Committee (CASCO) and a member of the CASCO Chairman’s Advisory Group.

    He has also served on various BSI Technical Committees in particular those which deal with the ISO 17000 series of standards.